pistachio biscotti

pistachio biscotti

I am so incredibly excited this week! I booked flights on Monday, and in less than a month (!) I’ll be flying across to spend the whole weekend with two of my very favourite people in the world, with nothing to do but drink wine and eat snacks. It will be bliss.

It’s a lunchtime flight, as well, so there’s a small chance I’ll be able to pack something tasty beforehand, not something I usually excel at.

Last time I went on a plane, I bought a chocolate orange. Then I ate the chocolate orange. The flight was an hour and a half long. I’ve no excuse.

If I manage to stop eating four of these every time I walk past the tin, there still won’t be any left to soak up my airport champagne with. This makes me very sad.

Recipe after the jump.

pistachio biscotti
Recipe from Biscotti, via Heidi Swanson of 101 cookbooks fame (who, incidentally, makes potstickers to take on planes. She is obviously much better at life than me). I’ve kept the ingredients the same, but found that my biscuits cooked much faster, even at a much lower temperature, so I’ve updated the baking instructions below to reflect this.

Makes about 50.

500g raw, shelled pistachios
200g granulated sugar
1tbsp honey
1tsp vanilla extract
Zest of 1 lemon, finely grated
3 large eggs, whites only
1 dinner-plate sized pile of icing sugar

Preheat the oven to 160℃.

Blitz the pistachios in a food processor with 100g of the sugar until they’re the texture of slightly gravelly sand.

Combine with the honey, vanilla and lemon zest, and gently mix in the egg whites until the dough is well combined. Add the rest of the sugar and mix well.

Take small pieces (16g) of the dough and form them into 3cm balls. Put them onto parchment-lined baking trays, leaving another 3cm between each ball, and bake for 13 minutes until golden at the edges.

They’ll keep for two weeks in an airtight tin.

Leave a Reply

