raw cacao bites with ginger

raw cacao bites with ginger

I won’t lie. I’m not usually drawn to things called raw cacao and ginger bites. These, though, my friend made me as part of a birthday present, and they really and truly are delicious.

They’re also very handy for keeping in the fridge for snacks. It’s a lot easier to only have 2 of these than it is of, say, chocolate fingers.

I’m not sure I can persuade myself that they’re healthy (blah… sugar… blah), but they’re probably better than a lot of the other things around at this time of the year. Fruit sugar + seeds + nuts > processed sugar + hydrogenated fats, right? Of course, if your colleagues are bringing in salads and exotic fruits instead of cookies and twix bites, well, sign me up for the job alerts please.

Recipe after the jump.

raw cacao and ginger bites
The ingredients list below is kind of obnoxious, I think. When I made them, I left the cacao nibs out, used cocoa powder instead of cacao, honey instead of agave, almond instead of cashew butter, and whatever seeds I had in the cupboard (linseed and pumpkin, I think). And they were just as delicious. The only thing I think you’d need to keep as-is is coconut oil; I can’t think of another fat that’s as solid at room temperature. Well, apart from lard. I’m not sure lard would be quite so nice here.

200g dates
3tsp cacao powder
3tbsp cacao nibs
1tsp agave syrup
1tbsp coconut oil
1tsp cashew butter
2tbsp pumpkin seeds
2tbsp flax seeds
Thumb-sized piece of fresh ginger, grated
Dessicated coconut or tiny seeds (optional)

Melt the coconut oil and nut butter together in a small saucepan. Put into a food processor with the dates and cacao powder and blitz thoroughly, then add the rest of the ingredients except the coconut or tiny seeds and process briefly until mixed.

Form into ping-pong ball sized blobs, and roll in the coconut or tiny seeds – just so they don’t stick to the plate. Keep in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

