lentils, cabbage and peperoncino

image

A couple of blog posts appeared in my reader last week, both talking about a sort of food-related lethargy, and for the first time I thought I understand.

Usually, I love sitting down with a pile of recipe books and planning the week’s meals. I look forward to what we’ll eat later, and to getting home and spending a peaceful hour or so in the kitchen. Feeding people (myself included) is one of my favourite things to do.

Recently, though, food has been crammed higgledy-piggledy in amongst the rest of my life. Between training to be able to do this (I’m a little way off yet) and studying so that I can one day have this job, and spinning the usual family-friends-work plates that we all have to keep in the air, it doesn’t feel like there’s been much time even for eating, let alone cooking.

Left to my own devices, I can end up eating cheese on toast for 4 meals in a row, so I’ve been trying to keep a list of the kind of recipes that are super quick but are also, at the same time, mostly vegetables. This recipe is a good quick one if you buy one of those pre-cooked packs of lentils instead of cooking your own, but apart from that I’m pretty stuck. If you know of a good veg-heavy quick recipe, please let me know in the comments – I’d love to hear it!

Recipe after the jump.

lentils, cabbage and peperoncino
This is from Diana Henry’s Food From Plenty.

Enough for 2.

1 x 400g tin brown or puy lentils (or 125g dried)
1/2 small Savoy cabbage
2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp dried chilli flakes, or to taste
1 tbsp roughly chopped flat-leaf parsley
juice of 1/2 lemon
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper

If you are less lazy than me, and using dried lentils, cook them in enough water to cover for around 20 minutes, until they are tender but not mushy. Otherwise, drain the tin and rinse well.

Remove the tough ribs from the cabbage leaves and cut into strips.

Heat 1 tbsp oil over a medium heat in a large frying pan. Add the shredded cabbage, and stir fry for a couple of minutes before adding the garlic and chilli flakes. Continue stirring for around 4 minutes, until the garlic is pale gold and the leaves have wilted.

Drain the lentils, add to the pan with the cabbage, and – if using tinned – heat through briefly until warm. Dress with the remaining ingredients and serve hot, warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

